Friday, Feb. 13, 2009

So who here had a black cat cross their path today or walked under a ladder? It’s Friday the 13th and I got through the day pretty well (so far, knock on wood).

I did have the joy today of another meeting with my section chief and the union rep. These things are becoming entirely too common. The section chief wanted to know whether I was going to continue on with the lawsuit over being…what’s the word I’m looking for here? Shot!

The man actually wouldn’t say the word. He kept referring to it as an ‘unfortunate incident’ and ‘being caught in a security action.’ I really was thinking of letting the whole thing go (insurance covered the medical bills and PT is going remarkably well), but I really couldn’t bring myself to tell this guy. Some folks continue to damage the reputation of government bureaucrats, which is a feat seeing how we are held in such high esteem already.

So, no decision today. I’ll deal with it next week.

This weekend is Valentine’s Day and a three-day weekend. One of the (ever competitive) grandmas is coming up tomorrow and Neve and I are off for a romantic trip…the first since April was born. I’m not giving you-all details because she doesn’t know them yet either.

Leave a comment