Saturday, Oct. 25, 2008

So the last Friday of every month is the “Go Green Walk/Ride Day” in our parts. You are supposed to wear green and eschew driving for more eco-friendly methods of transportation like the bus or the subway. Normally that would be next week — however, next Friday is Halloween so I guess moved it to yesterday. I bumped into one of their little events last night on the way back from Mr. Crepe.

I like the concept… sort of.  I’m all for walking and riding. Paul and I use our car about once a month, if that. I walk everywhere and so does April. How many not-yet-two-year-olds do you know who can walk two miles? And I like that this organization is working to improve the (not fabulous) public transportation system around here. I mean, I love our subway but it’s not the best in the world.

But it seems to me that the majority of the effort is promoting that warm fuzzy feeling you get when you put on a green t-shirt on the last Friday of the month. Also, if you buy from sponsors (while wearing green), you get free stuff! You’re not actually doing anything, mind you, but you’re showing your support for all things… green. And shopping. Never forget the shopping.

I think that’s what bugs me. The consumerism attitude towards the environment. It’s like those stupid (red) t-shirts the Gap was selling a couple of years ago. They were helping to raise money to defeat… something. Do you remember? Didn’t matter, really, as long as you had the cool logo t-shirt.  Or the shampoo at the local drugstore that had a pink cap and claimed that it helped support breast cancer. Now, I gotta assume they meant help fight breast cancer or support breast cancer research but I’m still not sure that I think buying overpriced strawberry shampoo is helping fight breast cancer. But hey! You can feel good and shop at the same time.

Our political and charitable instincts have been so blunted by apathy and dulled by our bloated consumerism that we regard shopping trips as major political statements.

You want to “go green”? Skip the free coffee (with purchase) at the local coffeeshop that sponsors “Go Green Day”. Coffee is necessarily shipped from halfway around the world. Instead, resolve to lower your thermostat two degrees. Buy a pair of used jeans instead of new. (Do you have any idea how many pounds of fertilizer and pesticide go into one pair of jeans?) Agree to buy fewer and smaller Christmas presents this year. Or none! Bake cookies instead. Skip the bags at the grocery store and bring your own. If you must have that latte (and I admit, I must) bring your own cup (I do!).

Okay, I’m done. For now.

Leave a comment